Short story practice- Enigma in: When I was Six

So I’ve decided to start writing short stories, and since I know I’m crap at short stories and for school I always go over the word limit- I’ve decided to post my short stories on here! :)

For ideas I’m using the Juicy Writing (Inspiration and Techniques For Young Writers) by Brigid Lowry, because I know I get stuck on ideas and it’s a really helpful book :)

My first short story is about my superhero character I’m still developing (sort of), Callie Fox- a.k.a. Enigma (which I have copyrighted myself ;) ) when she was a kid.

 

When I was six, I dug a giant hole in my garden. At least, it was big for a six year old. It took me almost the whole day, as I was using a small old weather worn trowel that I had left outside and forgotten about. It was the middle of summer and my grandparents were visiting us, and they were sitting on the porch drinking coffee with my parents. They had no idea what I was about to find as I was digging my innocent hole that day, for the day I dug the hole was the day I found out that my grandparents were famous sixties superheroes.
It was a hot summers day, and I was in my little pink bathing suit which I had gotten for my birthday. It had a picture of a Barbie doll on it in a bikini and a frilly skirt around my hips. To this day I wonder what I saw in that thing.
Anyway, I was digging a hole right in the middle of the garden. My parents started joking about planting something there once I was finished. I had eagerly agreed at the time, not realizing they were joking. By about one in the afternoon maybe, my swimsuit was covered in dirt and there was a considerably large pile of dirt next to me and yet; I kept on digging. The hole was maybe less than a meter deep at the time, but pretty deep for me.

By about one in the afternoon maybe, my swimsuit was covered in dirt and there was a considerably large pile of dirt next to me and yet; I kept on digging. The hole was maybe less than a meter deep at the time, but pretty deep for me.

 

I dug my trowel in to the ground at the very bottom of the hole, hoping to scoop a really big bit out this time, when it got caught on something. I worked my trowel around the object which caught and dragged as I worked it out of the ground. I picked up whatever it was and held it up. In my hands was a dirty, crumpled, but unmistakeable dark blue spandex suit with a blue lightening bolt on it. I stared at it in awe.
My grandfather jumped up at once, ran over to me and snatched the suit from me as fast as he could. He attempted to stuff the suit under his cardigan. I stared at the panicking old man in front of me, not putting together two and two (even though I was past that lesson at school). He stood there with a lumpy cardigan with dark blue sleeves sticking out from under it. My grandfather was most likely trying to figure out what to do without things turning really weird (or weirder than they already were).
He hastily turned around and sprinted as fast as an old man could into the house, taking the spandex suit with him still jammed under his cardigan.
Everyone was silent for a long time.
It felt like forever for the six year old me, and so I finally asked, “Why was there a superhero suit in our garden?”
The rest of the day is vague in my memory, however. But that was the day I found out that superheroes were real.
I had never believed, or could have possibly dreamed, that one day I would become a superhero like my grandparents- and all those other superheroes that reside in the cities around my own. But here I am: Enigma, kinetic energy manipulator.


Oh, and on another note:
I did change the name of my blog; I was very happy when I realised I could edit it (evil Facebook won’t let me, so I will here as revenge). :)

-AnaEatsZombieUnicorns 

6 thoughts on “Short story practice- Enigma in: When I was Six

    • ^-^ I’m impressed too- and it’s with my superhero character too! (not really her debut though…..)

  1. It’s a goody. :-) Your language is concise and paints a picture. You have ended it well … because I want to know what happens next! Do I have to do a log in to post this? Gma.

Leave a Reply

